Lolita's Legacy

Pilates Teacher Training Program by Master Teacher Lolita San Miguel

Disciple of J. Pilates

uncle-joe-home


Lolita's Legacy

Lolita San Miguel

 

New York born Lolita San Miguel celebrates in 2014 her 56th anniversary of practicing the Pilates method. She received her first certification from Carola Trier, Joseph Pilates’ first disciple to open a studio and then studied with Mr. Pilates himself. Lolita holds the distinction of being one of the only two known practitioners to have been officially certified by Joseph and Clara Pilates and awarded degrees by the State University of New York to teach the Pilates Method. Lolita has also been certified by Polestar Pilates Education and was awarded a Gold Certificate by the Pilates Method Alliance. She is one of the four “Distinguished Elders” of the Pilates Method Alliance. After a distinguished career in dance–she was a soloist with the Metropolitan Opera Ballet for over ten years and ballet mistress for Ballet Hispanico for three years—Ms. San Miguel moved with her husband to Puerto Rico in 1977, where she founded Ballet Concierto de Puerto Rico–now Puerto Rico’s finest ballet company– and was its Artistic and Executive Director for 27 years. She also founded Pilates y Mas, Inc. in Puerto Rico in 2000 to teach, train and certify teachers in association with Polestar Pilates Education. Ms. San Miguel retired from Ballet Concierto in 2005 and at the age of 70 started a new career, dedicated to the teaching of the Pilates Method. In 2009, she started her successful Pilates Master Mentor Program (PMMP), which has graduated an international group of over 120 teachers from the six habitable continents.

Lolita has published eight DVDs in her brisk selling “Lolita Shares Her Pilates ” series: “Mat I,” “Mat Repertoire,” “Reformer I,” “Reformer II,” “Pilates BodyWalk,” “Pilates Cadillac,” “Pilates Chair” and “Pilates Arcs & Barrel.” She recently published 3 new DVD’s Lolita Shares her Mat with Roller, Lolita Shares her Mat with Magic Circle, and Lolita Shares her Ped-O-Pull and other Pilates apparatuses. For a complete set of videos please visit: LolitaPilates.Com.

While holding a PMMP session in Dusseldorf, Germany in 2009, Ms. San Miguel decided to celebrate the international “Pilates Day” by offering free Pilates classes to over 150 persons in the King Frederick the Great Hall in the town of Monchengladbach, where Joseph Pilates was born and 20 minutes by car from Dusseldorf. She was shocked and sad to discover that no one knew about Joseph Pilates in the town of his birth. Right there and then she made it her mission to erect a Memorial Plaque honoring her teacher in his home town. On May 7, 2011, after two years of effort and a successful fund raising campaign, Ms. San Miguel accomplished her goal and a Memorial Plaque was placed under a linden tree, exactly where once stood the house where Joseph Pilates was born on December 9, 1883: 20 Waldenhauser Strasse. To further celebrate the occasion, she organized an international Pilates conference in Monchengladbach which was attended by Pilates aficionados from all over the world - Japan, Australia, Europe, South America, the Caribbean, the U.K. and of course the U.S. Present were 31 of Ms. San Miguel’s PMMP graduates.

In the fall of 2011 Ms. San Miguel took another bold step. For years she had turned down requests to start her own Pilates teaching training program. But realizing that she now had a strong base of Pilates professionals with a solid knowledge of her methodology and approach to the Pilates Method she had trained personally through her Pilates Master Mentor Program—who called themselves “Lolita’s Disciples”—she felt motivated enough and decided that she would design her own teacher training program and started work on its preparation. The result is Lolita’s Legacy™, which was officially introduced at the 2012 Pilates Method Alliance conference in Las Vegas.

Contact us

Lolita's Legacy

Cursus de Formation Pilates sur l'héritage de Lolita San Miguel

Master Teacher et Disciple de J. Pilates

uncle-joe-home


L'héritage Pilates

de Lolita San Miguel

Lolita San Miguel

 

Lolita San Miguel, née à New York célèbre en 2014 sont 56ème anniversaire de pratique de la méthode Pilates. Elle a reçu sa première certification de la part de Carola Trier, la première disciple de Joseph Pilates à ouvrir un studio et a ensuite étudié avec M. Pilates en personne.

Lolita possède la distinction d'être l'une des deux praticiennes connues à avoir été officiellement certifiée par Joseph et Clara Pilates et à avoir reçu des diplômes de l'université de l'État de New York pour enseigner la Méthode Pilates. Lolita a également été certifiée Polestar Pilates Education et récompensée du Certificat d'Or par l'Alliance de la Méthode Pilates. Après une carrière distinguée dans la danse -elle était en solo avec le Metropolitan Opera Ballet pendant plus de dix ans et maîtresse de ballet pour le Ballet Hispanico pendant trois ans, Mme San Miguel a déménagé avec son mari à Puerto Rico en 1977, où elle a fondé le Ballet Concierto de Puerto Rico, aujourd'hui meilleure companie de ballet de Puerto Rico et fut sa directrice exécutive artistique pendant 27 ans. Elle a également fondé Pilates y Mas, Inc. à Puerto Rico en 2000 pour enseigner, former et certifier des professeurs en association avec Polestar Pilates Education. Mme San Miguel a pris sa retraite du Ballet Concierto en 2005 et à l'âge de 70 ans, a commencé une nouvelle carrière dédiée à l'enseignement de la méthode Pilates. En 2009, elle a débuté son fameux Programme de Mentorat de Maitre de Pilates (PMMP), qui a diplômé un groupe international de plus de 120 enseignants venant des 6 continents. Iva Mazzoleni, formatrice responsable pour les pays francophones fait partie de ses élèves disciple ayant été sélectionnés et certifiés par Lolita San Miguel en personne en 2013.

Très engagée envers sa passion pour le Pilates, Lolita se lance dans plusieurs projets Pilates dans le but d'honorer le travail de Joseph Pilates.

Elle décide alors en 2009 de célébrer la "journée internationale du Pilates" dans la ville de Mönchengladbach, où Joseph Pilates est née. Choquée et triste de découvrir que personne ne connaissait Joseph Pilates dans sa ville natale, elle décida que sa mission fut d'ériger une plaque mémoriale en l'honneur de son professeur. Le 7 mai 2011, après deux ans d'efforts et une campagne de donation réussie, Mme San Miguel atteint son objectif et une Plaque Mémoriale fut placée sous un tilleul, exactement où se trouvait autrefois la maison où naquit Joseph Pilates le 9 décembre 1883: 20 Waldenhauser Strasse. Pour célébrer encore mieux l'occasion, elle organisa une conférence internationale sur le Pilates à Mönchengladbach à laquelle ont assisté des passionés venant du monde entier - Japon, Australie, Europe, Amérique du Sud, Caraïbes, R-U et bien sûr les présents des USA furent 31 des diplômés du PMMP de Mme San Miguel.

À l'automne 2011, Mme San Miguel se lança dans une autre étape audacieuse. Pendant des années elle avait refusé les demandes pour commencer son propre programme de formation d'enseignement du Pilates. Mais en réalisant qu'elle avait à présent une base importante de professionnels du Pilates avec de solides connaissances de sa méthodologie et de son approche de la Méthode Pilates qu'elle avait formé personnellement à travers son Programme de Mentorat de Maitres de Pilates, qui se surnommaient "les Disciples de Lolita" - elle se sentit assez motivée et décida de concevoir son propre programme de formation de professeur et commença à travailler sur sa préparation. Le résultat est Lolita’s Legacy™, qui fut officiellement présenté à la conférence de l'Alliance de la Méthode Pilates à Las Vegas en 2012 et dont vous pouvez à présent également profiter sur le territoire francophone.

Contactez nous